A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Rice Sock Re-post ~ per reader request! April 26, 2010

Filed under: Calling all bloggers!,Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

Rice socks are a beautiful thing in our house. What is a rice sock? Only the greatest heating pad ever! They can be heated in the microwave, or put in the freezer as a cold pack. They’re nice and squishy, so they can be wrapped around an arm, a leg, or draped over your neck. Pop it in the microwave for 1 minute for kids, 1 and 1/2 for adults. Great for tummy aches, ‘warrior wounds’, or even throw them under the covers to warm up your bed on cold nights. I even used them when my girls were babies…colic is a tummy issue…it may help! Here’s how you do it.

Purchase a pack of men’s tube socks. (using old socks is just gross!) Fill each sock with rice (any cheap rice will do the trick!). Sew the opening closed, TIGHTLY, (You don’t want a leaky rice sock, trust me!) or, if you cannot or just hate to sew, you can just knot the end of the sock. Works like a charm! You can get white ones and let your kids decorate them with permanent markers, or get colored or patterned socks and let them pick their own. It’s great when they can all have their own rice sock, avoids unnecessary arguments!

You can even get scented oils such as lavender (calming), or spearmint/eucalyptus (soothing) and toss the rice in a bowl with a dropper-ful. When you heat them, the oil heats up and makes for a whole new experience! As a matter of fact, I went searching for a rice sock to get a picture to post and they, once again, weren’t where they belong. But alas, I knew just where to look. = )

Oh, yeah….Rice Socks Rock!

This post was linked to:

 

3 Responses to “Rice Sock Re-post ~ per reader request!”

  1. Momma K Says:

    This is a great idea – I’m going to add it to my things to do list! (soon it will be called my Cool things Janine has shown me how to do list)! Love it, thanks for sharing this.
    I had to laugh at the “old sock” comment … because that would just be gross ; )

  2. Holly L Says:

    My mom bought me something like this awhile back…it has seen better days…I may have to make myself one of these.

    Thanks for visiting on my SITS Day (last week)!
    Holly
    504 Main

  3. Melody Says:

    If I used my husband’s old sock, I’d neet a lot of scented oil in that rice! (Hi Bean from Virginia!)


Leave a Reply

