A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Choose Your Position! March 2, 2010

Filed under: Parenting 101,Parenting Pre-teens,Teenagers! — Janine Chance @ 7:00 am

Ok, here’s the mental picture. One of your kids comes in the room sniffling, rubbing their eyes, with the saddest face in the county workin’ hard. You decide to throw ’em a bone…”What’s wrong?”

The rest is just blah, blah, blah. We could all fill in the blanks with what happens next. This one hit that one, that one got hurt, and so on and so on. People tell me all the time, “You need a boy!” (In case you didn’t know, we have 3 girls) The question that rings through my ears every time that statement is made is the same, “WHY?” Why, when my girls wrestle, burp, and give wedgies with the best of ’em? Now, these are not the traits I am most proud of, don’t get me wrong, however, I feel quite content with what God has blessed me with. I have handed out my share of ice packs and heated rice socks!

I finally got tired of telling them to ‘knock it off’, so this is what I tell my girls when they come in crying because they got hurt wrestling and playing around. “Were you in the ‘warrior’s circle’, or did you choose to be a princess?” (Admittedly, the concept of the warrior’s circle came from my awesome friend who has a boy the same age as my middle daughter. I think it’s brilliant! Thanks, Arnette!)

Warrior’s Circle, or Princess? That is the question. (Of course, if you are a mom with boys, you would say ‘prince’. We’re not looking to give them a complex!)

Here are the specifics of these categories for any of you who haven’t caught on just yet.

Warrior’s Circle – Choosing to take on the position of a warrior; willing to fight, taking on the opposition with enthusiasm. Making a decision to fight.

Princess/Prince- Choosing to refrain from battle; taking a position of peace; not willing to engage in battle, making certain that the opponent is aware of your position of surrender.

It’s as simple as this: If you chose to be in the warrior’s circle, then I am sorry you got hurt, but here ya’ go…here’s your ice pack. Not much I can do when you choose your demise. However, if you chose to be the princess/prince, and someone decided to ‘off the King’s son/daughter’? There’s trouble for that traitor!

This concept makes it real easy to decipher the battle, treat the wounded, and/or offer the life lesson for the stricken warrior.

My daughters were in the back of the house wrestling like a bunch of boys today. I just knew that at least one of them was going to come out hurt. Sure enough, I heard the walk of defeat as it entered the kitchen. I turned to see the freezer door open, close, and a large ice pack slammed on my 10 yr. old daughter’s head.

“What happened?” I asked, loading the dishwasher as if I didn’t care a bit about the obvious head wound.

She put her hand up as if to bring my ‘concern’ to a halt and said, “Nothing. I was just in the warrior’s circle…that’s all,”

“Oh, okay,” I said, and she walked out of the room, knowing that if she complained I would’ve said, “Toughen up buttercup, or get out of the warrior’s circle!”

It may seem unfeeling to you, or you may think I am a mean mom. To the contrary, I assure you. This is one life lesson I would pay money for my kids to learn…I’m just glad I can let them experience it for the small fee of a few cubes of ice, and a sweaty brow.

I encourage you, moms…when they come in the room with tears flowing, just ask the question…”Warrior…or prince/princess?”

 

5 Responses to “Choose Your Position!”

  1. Cindy Hailey Says:

    This is excellence.

    • Grace Morrison Says:

      Quite Nice! Quite Nice!!! Although, I just looked at my 6mo old and asked him if he was a warrior or a prince and he chuckled… Why do I get the distinct impression that we may be visiting a warrior circle or two??? Heck, with my fiesty little guy, why do I feel like a new meaning might be given to the term??? lol! Great lessons Janine!

  2. Thanks for the vote, Cindy! It means so much!

  3. Kelly Says:

    So cute! I just asked my kid that. He said, “I’m a warrior!” Uh, it may take a while to teach the moral of this lesson. But it’s too cute not to try. Thanks for sharing.

  4. […] neck. Pop it in the microwave for 1 minute for kids, 1 and 1/2 for adults. Great for tummy aches, ‘warrior wounds’, or even throw them under the covers to warm up your bed on cold nights. I even used them when my […]


Leave a Reply

