A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Medicine Soup~Good for What Ails Ya’! February 20, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — Janine Chance @ 11:37 am

Greetings!
With the weather being so cold and rainy, (and even snow for some!) and so many people suffering with yucky viruses and sickness lately, I thought re-posting this was a mighty fine idea.  Actually, I just made some this week for my family and friends who are fighting off the crud…..I am having some myself even as I type!  Enjoy…and let me know what you think and if it helps!

This is a chicken soup recipe I use every time the sniffle monster comes to my house. I’ve noticed quite a few of my readers have sick kids, and are battling it themselves, so I wanted to post this recipe to help the healing process along. It has great healing properties, and it’s really soothing for those raw winter days!

My ‘Homemade Medicine Soup’ (This is what my girls call it!)

1 whole 4-5 lb. chicken

4 carrots

3 celery stalks

15 cloves fresh garlic (I know, it seems like a lot, but trust me on this one!)

1 lg. onion

2 – 3 bay leaves

kosher salt (or salt of choice)

fresh ground pepper (or pepper of choice)

optional: 2 TBSP. chopped fresh ginger root (this is good especially for stomach flu stuff!)

Rinse chicken well and discard the stuff inside. Put in a large stock pot and fill with water about 1 in. above chicken. Place on the stove on high. Roughly chop all of the vegetables and put in pot with chicken with the bay leaves. (All of these vegetables will be discarded, so don’t worry about peeling the carrots..just big chunks of all of the veggies is fine..also, if you are adding the ginger, do it here!) Add about 2 – 3 tablespoons of salt and 1 – 2 tablespoons of pepper to the pot and let the whole thing come up to a boil. Once it starts boiling, reduce the heat to simmer and let ‘er go! I let mine simmer usually about 3 – 4 hours, stirring occasionally. You will know it’s ready because the water will have reduced considerably, and the chicken will be falling apart. At this point, I use tongs to remove the chicken pieces from the broth and put them in a large bowl in the fridge or freezer to cool so it can be picked. Strain the broth into another pot and discard all of the vegetables. (These are the casualties of war…the martyrs!) I let the broth cool and then use a spoon to skim the oil off the top. I then put it back on the stove to simmer a few more minutes. You now have your crazy-good-for-you broth that you can use as a base for any soup you want…or you can serve this to your under-the-weather friends and family just as is! Great with some pasta thrown in there, fresh-cut carrots, celery, onions and peas, whatever you like! When the chicken cools, pick it apart, discard all the bones, fat, etc. and cut it up or pull it apart and throw it back in the broth.

Here are some links explaining the health benefits and medicinal properties in this soup:

(Make sure you scroll down enough to read medicinal properties)

http://www.garlic-central.com/garlic-health.html

http://autoimmunedisease.suite101.com/article.cfm/ginger_in_autoimmune_disease

http://www.carrotmuseum.co.uk/nutrition3.html

http://www.home-remedies-guide.com/herbs/celery.htm

http://www.home-remedies-guide.com/herbs/onion.htm

Hope this helps, guys! Feel better soon!

 

Leave a Reply

