A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

May Moving Madness~I’m Always Hiring May 27, 2010


Because of this:

I re-posted this short but sweet little tidbit of mommy 411 for your arsenal. It’s a goodie for sure… I myself appreciated the reminder!

*****************************************************************************************************************************************************************

When my girls seem to have nothing better to do than to instigate problems, or start trouble with one another, I give them a job. My oldest daughter, as smart, kind, and wonderful as she is, just can’t help herself sometimes. She gets to feeling feisty, and messes around with her younger sisters. It happened about five minutes ago.

She’s giggly today, with lots of energy. Not always a good combination. I heard her go to the back of the house and stir up something with her youngest sister. “Stop it Kaitlyn!” is all I heard. I called Kaitlyn into the room, and calmly said, “It’s obvious to me that you need an occupation…clear the table from lunch, please.” “Yes ma’am…” was her reply.

Now, that didn’t stop her from laughing and being silly, but, it gave her an outlet for some of that energy, it intercepted what was going on between her and her sister, and I got the table cleaned off. Bonus! I tell my girls that I’m always hiring…if you need a job, I’ll give you one. For me, it’s multi-tasking without lifting a finger!

Sometimes they just need some re-direction. If I disciplined my kids for every little thing, they’d be in trouble 24/7. As I’ve said before, pick your battles. Re-direct when you can. It keeps things more sane for you, and less dramatic for them, and everyone goes to bed happier.

 

One Response to “May Moving Madness~I’m Always Hiring”

  1. Renee Says:

    I am an extreme advocate for the “pick your battles” style of parenting. It works even with the teens!

    Thanks for stopping by my blog yesterday!


Leave a Reply

