A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

May Moving Madness~In the Midst of Chaos…Success! 2 for 200 May 21, 2010

Filed under: Calling all bloggers!,Homeschooling,May Moving Madness! — Janine Chance @ 9:14 am

I had posted awhile back about my very first blogging award. It was so amazing to think that someone actually read my blog…and LIKED it! Enough to actually think of me when they had the opportunity to hand out an award! Well, with the month of May being pretty crazy over here because of moving and having my home turned upside-down, I didn’t really think my blog was going to be as ‘exciting’…you know, me being kinda distracted and all.

Well, I went online late last night (after packing until I had about broken every nail on both hands), and lo-and-behold…I received TWO Blog Awards!!!! Can you even stand it? An amazing, accomplished woman named J.B. Vadeboncoeur from Purplume’s Blog awarded me with not one, but TWO awards yesterday! You can read about just a few of her accomplishments here. I am so honored to be on her blogroll, and that she thinks enough of my writing to recognize it with an award!

So Ms. Vadeboncoeur, THANK YOU SO VERY MUCH! It really means a lot and you have really made my day!

Here are the awards that I won:


and


So cool!

Tomorrow I will be awarding other bloggers with these awards, and sharing the rules and details with you.

I know, to some of you master bloggers out there, it’s nothin’ but a thing. But me? I THINK IT’S AWESOME! In my own little blogging world, it does make me feel fantastic that someone out there in bloggyland actually gets something out of my heartfelt posts! I never thought I would love writing as much as I do.

Here’s my story:

I only started blogging about 3 and a half months ago. My very best friend, Robyn, who I so endearingly call Charlie, is the one who got this blog train rolling. You really need to check out her website, Vivevita.com! She’s a Mompreneur of 9 children with some really rockin’ good products. She’s smart, talented, beautiful, kind, and well, just an amazing person! Love her!

Anyway, My girls and I threw our schoolbooks in the car and took a trip to see her at the end of January, as we so often do. (Reason # 697 why I love home schooling!) Altogether, we have 12 kids between our two families. My oldest is 12, and her youngest is 10 months old, so you can just imagine the excitement, much less the noise level that accompanies our time together. However, we love it and wouldn’t trade our time together for anything. One of the best parts is that our husbands feel the same way…BONUS! We have the absolute most incredible friendship, so when she started talking to me about this whole blogging thing, I had to at least listen.

She said to me, “Charlie, (BTW…she calls me Charlie, too. Weird, I know, I’ll explain some other time) you have GOT to start blogging! You would be so perfect! You would do so great!” Even now, I can hear her sweet little sleepy voice convincing me. (Sleepy because the baby was only 5 1/2 months old at the time) “I don’t know, Charlie…” I said so not convinced, “I don’t even READ blogs! Why in the world would I ever write one? I’m not a writer! No one would read my stuff!” But Charlie was not relenting… “C’mon…how many people have told you that you need to write a book? They would so read your blog! I would read your blog!! You have too much to share, and can put it in words we can so relate to! You can do it!”

Then her husband Dave started in…and if you think Charlie (Robyn) can be convincing, you should hear her husband. If he weren’t a doctor, he could so pass for a motivational speaker…(and his homemade roasted coffee is the bomb! That’s another story…) So, I told them I would think about it, and I came home.

So I came home, signed onto WordPress.com, and wrote my very first post on January 21, 2010. It was short but sweet, and honestly I thought it would be my last. I had myself convinced that I was not a writer, so why in the world would anyone, in this vast blogging universe, want to read about what I think?

Well, that wasn’t my last post, and to date, I have people in 54 countries who have read, are reading, or at least are visiting my blog. How cool is that!? Giving myself heirs? No way…I laugh at the thought. I have to write it to believe it myself. Am I as popular as some of the amazing blogs out there? Nope… not even close. But I found that as I sat in front of my computer three and a half months ago, everything that I had wanted to share with every exhausted mom I saw in Wal-Mart began to pour out into my hard drive. I’m not brilliant, I’m not a genius, I will never claim to be perfect, and I could write you a book on my shortcomings that would hold up the end of your coffee table, but I love being a mom, I have amazing kids and an incredible husband. That’s got to count for something.

So, those of you who read my rantings, thank you. And to my dear friend Charlie, thank you.

This is my 200th post….and I received two awards from a writer today.

As insignificant as it may seem to some, I feel accomplished today.

That’s my little success story, and I’m stickin’ to it.




 

6 Responses to “May Moving Madness~In the Midst of Chaos…Success! 2 for 200”

  1. purplume Says:

    Wow, I am so impressed. You’ve written 200 posts in only 4 months.
    You are very welcome. These awards came to you because you deserve them.
    The other Charlie is very impressive also.
    Mothering is such a challenging task in so many ways. Blog support is one of the best things going. You provide a great service.

  2. alice macdougall Says:

    I am not surprised you got those awards and I am sure thee
    will be more to come.
    And I love your blog.

  3. Kelly Says:

    Like everyone else, I am so surprised that you’ve been so prolific in the past few months. But, I’m glad you’re here and that Charlie/Robyn convinced you to give it a shot.

  4. Hey, Charlie!
    Wow, congratulations–200 blogs with some very cool awards! You are a great Mom and you have lots of wisdom to share.

    Thank you for writing about Robyn. I can tell she was really touched by your acknowledgment.

    Thank you also for writing about my coffee. I am humbled….
    …yet…..
    yet also thrilled. I feel kind of like Steve Martin in “The Jerk” when he finally gets listed in the phone book. “I am a SOMEBODY–I’ve been blogged about!!” It kind of tickles.

    Have a great evening. Say hey to James and the young ladies for me and the gang.

    Dave

  5. Charlie – you are the BEST!!!! I am so, so very proud of you and so proud to be your friend, your Charlie! I just knew that you would be so perfect for this and that the rest of the world would so benefit from knowing you. You have such a gift for mothering (and cooking!) – it truly is a natural gift and I am so glad that I get to tap into that gifted mothering. Thank you for sharing this life with me – all the laughs, late nights, long talks, celebrations, tears, distractions, and time spent with George!

  6. Hooray for the bloggy encouragement! I’ll add to it by letting you know in advance that I’ll be linking to one of your previous posts later this week! Probably on wed – come visit! 🙂


Leave a Reply

