A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

May Moving Madness!~ Life Under the Big Top May 19, 2010


picture courtesy of moosemedia.net

I have to start out this little ‘circus-themed’ post singing…I-T-Y-S! I-T-Y-S! (OK, you have to sing those letters out, with attitude and feeling!)

That’s a little joke between my girls and I. Whenever something happens that we said would happen, we sing the ‘I-T-Y-S’ song.

Oh, sorry…let me clue you in.

It’s the ‘I told you so’ song !

I love getting to sing it to my girls when they are insistent about something, that I, (because I am just so old and decrepit and have been around longer), know is not accurate. When the realization comes that I was actually right, I say to them,

“Oh please? Please can I sing it?” They dramatically roll their eyes, smile and say, “Fine, Mom…if you have to.”

Ahhh…the joys of motherhood!

Why am I singing the ‘I told you so’ song?

ONLY BECAUSE I TOLD YOU GOD WOULD DO IT!!! AND HE DID IT RIGHT ON TIME!

(I’m certainly not saying that you were wrong, or not believing with me…it’s just so much fun to sing that song!)

I know it has nothing to do with a circus! I just couldn’t help myself!

Thanks for putting up with me. *sigh* Ok, back to the circus thing…

(*Ahem*…in my best ‘ring master’ voice…)

Step Right Up…Ladies and Gentlemen!! Come join us under the Big Top!

Come and see what amazing and spectacular things we have in store for you!!

That’s right, my fine friends! It’s aaaa-maaaa-zing!!!

We have an address!

Incredible? You bet! Not only do we have an address, but it is in a community with family and friends we love, and it is in the town we call home!

I think God must really like us. *Big, warm, fuzzy smile here*

Seriously, though! What a circus this has been! So crazy!

Crazy, yes…but by far, has been the most amazing endeavor to date.

Amazing why, you ask? Allow me to explain:

It’s amazing, because as we trust… as we walk this ‘tightrope of Faith’, we believe that although it can be frightening, it will not only withstand the pressure of each step, but that it is leading us straight to a sturdy finish. And ultimately, when we get to the other side and take the blindfold off, we look back and realize we were going straight the whole time, and the platform of safety is right in front of us.

We are overwhelmed with feelings of security and excitement, yet as we step onto that secure platform, we turn around and suddenly become aware of the danger that eluded us. It causes you to shudder, whereas while in the middle of that rope, your determination to survive only allowed your focus to be on attaining the prize of security. It is only now that you allow yourself to look at how high up you were, and the incredible distance between that rope and the ground below. But you realize that the distance from one side to the other was only a short one, although walking it felt like miles. You are flooded with feelings of relief, assurance and comfort. And then suddenly, your emotional stupor is interrupted, and the thundering sound of applause breaks the silence in your mind. You hear the roar of the crowd celebrating your accomplishment! You look all around under the big top, and people of all ages are standing… cheering, and you are convinced at that moment that there is not one person under this big top who is as relieved as you are.

However, in my case, the roar of my crowd comes from my Father in heaven… my heart is full, and there is no desire to take a bow.

The desire is only to give one. To bow in awe of His infinite ability to get us from one side to the other, unscathed.

So, as you juggle your way through this life, remember that you do not have to be your own Ring Master.

Put your blindfold on, and step out…putting one foot in front of the other, and hold tight to the balance bar of grace.

One of the biggest blessings to come out of this, is that I have three little girls who have not only walked this out with us, but are now experiencing the fruit of their labor, and filled with a joy that is unspeakable. Every ounce of uncertainty and stress was worth the gift of assurance my girls were able to receive. They will be living directly across the street from their aunt and cousins, and just 7 houses down the road from Grandma. They will be less than 10 minutes away from church with the ability to participate and be a blessing to others through their gifts and abilities. They will be surrounded by friends and family, while still being close enough to visit the friends they are leaving behind.

Smack dab in the center of God’s goodness.

Oh, and by the way…guess who gets to come with us?

Yup, there’s even room for the boys…

So, what’s going on under your Big Top?

This post was linked to:

Wordful Wednesday at

(Appropriate post for this blog carnival, dontchathink?)

 

6 Responses to “May Moving Madness!~ Life Under the Big Top”

  1. Jackie Says:

    How exciting! God’s timing is always perfect, isn’t it?

  2. Kelly Says:

    This so awesome. My heart is full for you!

    • Thanks so much…for your support and kind words! We are so thrilled! It really just hit me today that it is going to actually get a little easier this week! = ) I’m so ready to move and settle in!

  3. Hooray! SO excited for ya’ll!

    We’re walking our own tightrope of faith right now too.

    My hubby just graduated from his Ph.D program here at the Univ. of Ark. and we are in the beginning phases of preparing to move as well.

    The economy has certainly impacted the world of academia too, so it’s certainly been an uphill battle for him to to find work teaching in his field. But, God is providing, even if it’s just one class at a time from several different instiutions (rather than one full-time gig)

    We’re hoping and waiting in faith that God will provide a home in a safe community that we won’t really get to explore much until we get there.

    Thanks for sharing your blessings – it encourages me! 🙂

  4. […] this journey has been a definite faith builder as I described in this post, it’s still stressful, tiring and […]

  5. Laura Says:

    Im so excited the cats get to come with you!!!!!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

