A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

May Moving Madness!!! ~Thai Turkey Burgers May 11, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,May Moving Madness!,Movin' on up! — Janine Chance @ 12:21 am

Thai Turkey Burgers

2 lbs. ground turkey

½ c. Roasted garlic

2 T. ginger root, coarsely chopped

¼ t. red pepper flakes

½ t. black ground pepper

½ c. soy sauce

2 T. Olive oil

1 T. sesame oil

1 bunch (about 4) chopped green onions

¼ c. chopped fresh basil

Cheese of choice (opt…I used provolone)

In a mini blender, or chopper, combine roasted garlic, (click link for recipe) ginger root, red pepper flakes, black pepper, soy sauce, olive and sesame oils. Let ‘er rip until it’s made into a paste. Add the paste to turkey, along with the green onions and basil, and mix completely. Shape into 6 – 8 patties, depending on size. Spray the grill grates with cooking spray to avoid sticking, and grill burgers until no longer pink, adding cheese (opt.) the last-minute or so until melted.

I served these on thin buns with grilled onions, my Asian slaw, seasoned fries, and roasted asparagus… DELISH!

Definitely putting this one in the recipe arsenal!

This recipe was linked to:

and

 

13 Responses to “May Moving Madness!!! ~Thai Turkey Burgers”

  1. This meal looks incredible. All of our favorite foods. I will have to grill this burger this weekend. I think I have some leftover ginger root from another recipe.

  2. dpellei Says:

    Hey, Charlie! Mmm turkey! That looks like a great recipe.
    I still have to email you the Nut Roast recipes we made with the little guys this past weekend.
    Imagine the set-up we had making pesto, but with beans and nuts….it WAS nuts.

    Keep up the good work on the posts. I am hungry already.

    • I’ll be it was nuts….although, that goes without saying in the Pellei house…I wouldn’t want it any different! Thanks for visiting! Love you guys!

  3. Kelly Says:

    Yum! We never really experiment with flavored/themed burgers, but I’m going to give this one a try!

  4. JessieLeigh Says:

    This recipe looks fantastic– I absolutely love the flavor of ginger in just about anything! And, while I think it’s probably unorthodox to put cheese on Thai food, I would totally do the same thing.. what’s a burger without cheese?? 🙂

  5. Sherry Says:

    This sounds fabulous! I love trying new things with our burgers. 😀 I’m going to put this on our menu.

    Thank you for sharing!
    Have a great day!
    Sherry

  6. I posted about turkey burgers as well this week, but mine were a more southwest style variation.

    I love the Thai influence of these. I am so in love with turkey burgers and love how versatile they are. I’m definitely going to have to try them this way. Thanks for the recipe!

  7. Momma K Says:

    These look delicious! I think someday I will have to make the trip down south to visit you & your family…and have dinner of course! ; ) LOL

  8. I have made similar things, they look and sound delicious!! I love the asian flair on things, thanks!

  9. Sherry Says:

    Made these the other day with hamburger and garlic powder as I didn’t have enough garlic. It was delish!! 😀 Thank you for posting!


Leave a Reply

