A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Me!? The Die-Hard SAHM!? No Way! April 30, 2010

Filed under: SAHM Alert!,The Happy Wives Club — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

HI THERE PEEPS!

Long time no talk, or read, I should say!

Since I started my blog at the end of January, I have posted at least once a day.

This week I blogged Monday morning, thinking I was going to be able to blog Monday night for Tuesday, and so on and so forth.

No problem, right?

Not so much. “Ugh,”

({said my task-oriented mind})

Anyway… here’s my story, not to be mistaken for a short one:

We all have our strengths and weaknesses.

My weaknesses are….well…let’s just save that for another day… or week, ok…month…Oh, never mind!

I would be arthritic by the time I finished that post!

({obnoxiously blowing the hair out of my eyes here})

One of my strengths, however, is organization…you know, how to make life easier, more convenient… and definitely more enjoyable.

So I thought, how can I turn this into a career of some sort?

Something to supplement our income? Hmmm…My girls are getting bigger… I have a little more freedom with my time…

Then one day a friend came over and went to put something away in my Tupperware cabinet.

She opened it and said, “This is sick! Look how organized you are!

I wish someone would come to my house and show me how to get this organized!”

Ding, Ding, Ding! Oh yeah! The light went on! This was the A-HA moment for me!

THAT I could do…and would LOVE to do…so the wheels began to turn…

You see, I have an absolute passion for the moms of this world. Working moms, SAH moms, single moms, whatever! I love walking through Wal-Mart and seeing that new mommy with a screaming baby. You know, the one whose hair is haphazardly thrown into a bun, juggling the can of powdered formula, frantically trying to make a bottle and keep her newborns screams at bay with a pacifier while using her knee to push the stroller back and forth like a mad woman?

You’ve all seen her. If you were being completely honest,

you’d say that you WERE that woman at some point in time,in some similar scenario!

I know I was!

Yeah, yeah, I’m getting to the WHY part…I certainly don’t enjoy it because

‘I’m glad I wasn’t the only one’, or because ‘I’m just a big ole meanie who delights in watching other moms struggle.’

And it’s certainly not because ‘I am just so wonderful and think that I’m perfect and have it all together.’

Not even remotely.

It’s because I love being able (especially now that my girls are older) to offer my services to make the bottle for that frantic mom, while she picks up the now-purple screaming newborn baby. Hopefully, I’ll lighten her load, even if it’s for just a brief moment.

Or being able to run a shopping cart over to the mom who is picking up the contents of her purse from the middle of the parking lot, which spilled because she had to bend over to pick up a dropped toy while juggling twin toddlers on her hips!

Or how about even just being an ear to the new mommy who is exhausted, and standing in line just dying to brag, yet once again, about her two month old who turned over sixteen times yesterday, which makes every lost hour of sleep worth it.

Let’s face it Moms…WE NEED EACH OTHER!

No, I’m not a saint, but I do believe it was God Himself who put this passion, and compassion in my heart. But my passion goes way beyond the walls of Wal-Mart. How can I help moms to cope with the day-in, day-out life of being a Mom? How can I help these weary women love their jobs, and make their home environment one that they are at peace with? How do I market myself like that? What is that even called?!

I know there’s definitely a need for it!

Yeah, I hear ya’…blogging is definitely one of those ways. I know I have absolutely loved the awesome relationships and encouragement I have experienced since joining with other cyber-mommies.

However, I am a people person. As much as I love this,

I want to be able to hand a tissue over, or make a real cup of coffee…not just offer a coupon…ya’ know?!

But how?!

I know, you’re probably thinking to yourself, ‘Get with it, woman! People have been doing jobs just like that for like, forever!’

Well, I have never claimed to be ‘with it’ when it comes to the business world and where it has been for the last 12 years. My ‘business’ has been wrapped around diapers, sippee cups, spelling tests, play dates, potty chairs, time-out benches, kissing boo-boo’s, barbies down the toilet, bath time, soccer schedules, dance recitals, now turned stay-up-until-she-gets-home-from-youth-group junkie, etc…etc…etc….oh, of course not excluding my role as pastor’s wife, family secretary, home economics teacher, beautician, gardener, and honorary Geek Squad wannabe!!*

I’M JUST A STAY-AT-HOME-MOM FOR PETE’S SAKE**!!!

*breath taken here*

*hair flicked out of face here*

**Disclaimer – NO – I do not know who Pete is and I’m not sorry he got dragged into all of this.

Look, I certainly don’t claim to know it all, or to be the best at any of it.

What I do know, is that if your home is not put together so that you can function,

any amount of stress beyond that can, and most likely, will put you over the edge.

So, that friend who wanted her cabinets organized?

She called me and asked me if she could be my very first client!

It couldn’t have been more perfect! I know her family really well, and it would be a great test run. I knew I could help her, and that I could gain experience about the business end of it. So, I said yes. I packed up the kids, the schoolbooks, and went.

(It does help that we’re at the end of our school year and in ‘finish up’ mode!)

Well, after working a near 45 hours in a three-day period of time putting together a home office (they run a business out of their home), re-organizing their kitchen, and re-vamping every inch of the basic living space in the home, I was exhausted, but elated.

Don’t get me wrong…it was the biggest organization job I’ve ever done on any home including my own, but the look on her face when she walked in after I was completely finished, filled my tank of satisfaction to overflowing. There was finally a place for everything…a place that made sense.

I think I even saw her breathe and smile at the same time!

Now, I do have to say, I definitely worked the first day for the pay, but the other two days were personal. I love her and her family, and wanted to go above and beyond for them, so the first day, I was an employee. The other two, I was just a friend. I love being my own boss!

This was it! I really can do this…and LOVE it! You know, the whole “The perfect job* is the one where you come home after a full days work and feel like you didn’t work a minute?” Well, it’s true!

* Disclaimer – No job will ever provide the satisfaction, or joy we experience as a mom.

Working moms, SAH Moms, Single Moms, and the like. Never!

Okay, having said that, let me correct myself. The perfect ‘paid’ job is the one where you come home after a full days work and feel like you didn’t work a minute, but you have a bona fide paycheck in hand that proves that you did!

So my friends, this is the excuse for my silence this week. I hope I haven’t bored you to tears…but if you’re still reading, you either enjoyed it, you’re just really patient…or you’re just a really faithful friend! In any case, thanks.

I took some before and after pics…not a bunch, and they were with my cell phone, but you’ll get the idea.

We’ll see what happens from here. What I do know, is that I’m very sleepy, but I’ll definitely fall asleep with a smile on my face because I made a difference this week…and for that, I am way thankful. That just makes me happy.

*Smile*

These pictures were taken as an afterthought…use your imagination…and give your imagination about 45 hours to kick in…

Before

Before the home office was an office...

After…

Office bliss...

Could this really be the answer to staying home with your kids AND getting monthly pedicures?

This post was linked to:

 

9 Responses to “Me!? The Die-Hard SAHM!? No Way!”

  1. […] What!?!? I won my first blogger award this week!!! I’m so happy! As I said in my last post, I’ve been out of it this week, which is very unusual for me. When I checked my blog last […]

  2. Laura Says:

    That is really fantastic – good for you!!! i really hope it works out because so many people hate organizing for themselves!!!

  3. purplume Says:

    I am happy for you. I hear your enthusiasm and caring. that counts for a lot.
    A job, a ‘paid’ job you enjoy is a treasure indeed,

  4. Karen Says:

    I wish you could come to my house! I know HOW to get organized, but even as a single girl, I just don’t have the time to do it.

  5. Momma K Says:

    Janine! I love love love this post.
    There were so many times when I would have my 2 youngest out at the grocery store (17 months apart) and I would struggle. I would have sam in the sling and owen in the cart…someone (or both) were screaming. I still recall, at the grocery store on different occasions, people 1) helping me bag my groceries 2) people helping me load my groceries into the back of my truck and 3) people offering to help load my cart.

    It touched me and I will never ever forget that. I try to help other mommies when I see them too – even if it’s just a smile as I walk by. I love that you’re looking out for other mommies too. (although I’m not surprised by your kindness, knowing what I know about you!!)

    I’m so happy for you that you have found this niche and perhaps even a CAREER of being a home organizer!! What a perfect idea!!!

    And finally, I wished you lived closer to me…not only so I could hire you as my personal organizer, but also so we could chat about life over some tea in my kitchen. I know you would have not only great organization tips, but parenting & life in general. Keep up the amazing work…I’ve said it before & I’ll say it again. You ARE INSPIRING!!! Sorry for the novel length comment!!

  6. Kelly Says:

    How cool! I’m glad you will be able to do something you love while getting paid for it. Follow your passion!

  7. Wow, what a gift to have! And what a blessing to recognize it as such and put it to use!

    Any chance you’re in the southern Ontario area? I’d love a little help tackling our garage! My house is pretty much in order (including my tupperware cupboard) but the garage is {blush} a disaster!

    Congrats on your first “job” 🙂

  8. I could use a personal organizer… 😉

  9. so fun to have you link up to “Anti-Procrastination Tuesdays!” I love organizing for other people, too. I just wish I loved doing it in my own home just as much..
    What a blessing you were to do that, very cool. Would love to see you again tomorrow at “AP Tuesday!”


Leave a Reply

