A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Scooby Snack~ Tip of the Day! Prelude to a recipe… April 19, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,Home Ec Happenings!,Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day — Janine Chance @ 7:00 am

I love garlic. My family loves garlic. Being Sicilian (that’s way down in the boot Italian), I grew up with garlic in every way shape and form. My dad would pop whole cloves in his mouth like it was candy. Ok, I’m not that extreme. Needless to say, there are very few of my recipes that don’t have garlic in the first few ingredients. It’s a good thing that it’s good for you, and fat-free! Go here to see the nutritional and medicinal properties. It might surprise you what these little stinky nuggets have to offer!

Having said all of that, one of my favorite ways to use/have garlic is roasted. Roasted garlic is definitely one of my top 10 faves as far as flavor goes. Garlic goes from strong and pungent to sweet and nutty in just one hour with little preparation or work. It’s so simple to do it’s almost sickening, so I decided to share this little morsel of cooking 101 with you, so you can utilize it in your future menu planning and recipes.

Here’s how we do garlic in our house:

I told you we love garlic! I even gave it a spotlight!

3 lbs. at a time baby…gotta love Sam’s Club!

Ingredients for roasting garlic:

Garlic cloves

(No duh! Seriously, though, I usually use about 20 cloves. Once you mash them up, it’s really not extreme.)

Extra virgin olive oil

Kosher salt (or whatever you use)

Fresh cracked black pepper

Tin foil

THAT’S IT~!!!

What to do:

1. Fold a decent-sized piece of tin foil in half to make it sturdy.

2. Place garlic cloves in the center in a pile.

3. Drizzle a generous amount of olive oil over the top of the garlic.

4. Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

It will look like this:

(I used a piece of my ‘recycled’ foil…that stuff’s not cheap!)

5. Fold the foil around the garlic tightly to form a nicely sealed pouch.

(You don’t want garlic leakage in your oven! Yikes!)

6. Place the sealed pouch of goodness into your oven at 400° for one hour.

I use my countertop convection oven…LOVE that thing! No need to fire up the big ol’ oven for this!

(Time to clean off the crumb tray…eek!)

After one hour, this is what you’ll have:

Click Here.

We REALLY love garlic.

Stay tuned for my recipe for Roasted Garlic Turkey Burgers coming next week!

What are some of your recipes that call for roasted garlic?

This post was linked to:

the Tuesday 30-minute blog challenge at steadymom.com .


 

6 Responses to “Scooby Snack~ Tip of the Day! Prelude to a recipe…”

  1. Keri Says:

    Yummmm, I don’t have any recipes for roasted garlic…but this looks so good I might have to go find some! Thanks for the great idea!!

  2. Leslie Says:

    Oh yummy this sounds GREAT! My 13 year old daughter LOVES garlic. I bet this is sooooo good on bread:) Must try. Thanks for the recipe. Found you on SITS today!!!:)

  3. Amy Says:

    Yum! We roasted some broccoli and garlic last night. Added some lemon, pine nuts, and Parmesan. It was sooooo good. My favorite part was the garlic!

  4. Kerilyn Says:

    Thank you! I roasted garlic the other day and was hoping to find another way to do it. Wonderful tip!


Leave a Reply

