A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

The School Monkey’s Ride is Comin’ to an End! April 15, 2010


Kaitlyn bustin' out the Daily Grams!

One of the beautiful things about home-schooling is that we can operate a lot like Burger King. For the most part, you can ‘Have it your way’. Some families school all year, some don’t. Some un-school. You can home-school on a shoestring budget if you have to (in which I’ve been blessed with plenty of experience), or you can go for it and get all of the really cool stuff that’s out there (which I’ve also been blessed with). How you go about it is based mostly on your personality type, I think, anyway.

Me? I’m the home-schooler who likes to finish each book to the end. I know, some of you are thinking…’what a psycho!’…or that maybe I just suffer with OCD. Neither of those thoughts are completely accurate. I just think if you can finish, why not? I mean, we do pay for the books, right? We are on our own schedule, right? We do still pay taxes even though our kids don’t attend public school, RIGHT? So why would we leave the last 7 pages of knowledge building, personally chosen, educational nuggets of wisdom BLANK if we don’t have to?!?! *Breath taken here*

Disclaimer: NO, I’m not saying if you leave pages blank you’re a terrible home-schooler. I, myself, have done it. I can let go, when necessary.

On average, our school year usually starts in mid to late August and goes through until the end of May/beginning of June. We continue through the summer with a light math and reading schedule, just so our brains don’t go to mush. I take advantage of rainy days where the beach isn’t really an option and we’re needing a break from the sun anyway.

We do fun projects and student chosen book studies just to stay in the ‘learning groove’. This is a time where

Madelyn carefully reading her instructions for Language Arts!

the only ‘required reading’ is what they choose to read!

We will be officially moved on June 5th, so I scoured all of the girls’ books last week to see where we were at in each subject, and when we would be done. All three of the girls will be completely finished with all curriculum by May 21st! Yay us! They are finishing different subjects at various times over the next month, but after May 21st, I get to put the ‘monkey’ in it’s cage! That will give us a week to finish packing without having to feed the primate! Oh, I can just smell it! (I’m so glad it’s a virtual monkey cage)

McKenna taking one of her last practice Spelling tests for the year!

I know, I know, you’re never ‘behind’ when you’re home-schooling, but for me, knowing I can pack away the 2009/2010 school books, send in my final report cards to the state, and move without that ‘school monkey’ on my back is an amazing feeling! We can take the time we need to unpack, set up at our new house, (which by the way, we found out JUST YESTERDAY that we secured…YIPEEE!) and start our summer stuff when we’re rested and ready! We can take our reading poolside!

I am SO thankful to be a home-schooling mama!

What are your questions about home-schooling? I’m not perfect, but I may be able to help!

Leave your question in the comment section. I’d love to share what I know with you!

This post is linked to :

and  Gratituesday

 

7 Responses to “The School Monkey’s Ride is Comin’ to an End!”

  1. Laura Says:

    Janine,
    I keep going back and forth between two programs. Sonlight and Classical Conversations. I would really rather not spend the money on either but I have no idea what to get for Samuel. He will be in Kindergarten. I like the idea of Sonlight because it gives me everything I need in one neat package. Sonlight and Classical Conversations will run me about 700. If I piece things together will it cost me that much? If I do piece things where do I start. I really need someone to “hold my hand” since I was not home schooled and really have no one to show me. Help!!

  2. Laura…PLEASE call me! I would love to talk to you and share with you everything I have learned/experienced over the past 6 years! I don’t want to see you waste/spend $ you don’t have to! Home-schooling rocks…………My desire is for you to enjoy it too! Leave me a mssge. via Facebook. I’ll give you my #. We’ll talk. I want to help! In about a month or so, we won’t live that far away. Summer’s coming. we can visit, and I would love to share what I have/know with you. You’re doing such a great job! It’s not as overwhelming as it looks. Ttys!

  3. Keri Says:

    I really appreciate this post…as you know I struggle as a working momma, and the world of home schooling is something that really interests me!
    Thanks for sharing that information. I’m going to come back and re-read this post & take some time to look at the links.
    Awesome info, thanks!! You are definitely an amazing mom.

    • If you ever get to that place where you are wanting more info…email me and I’d love to share what I know and what I’ve learned through it all. You are such a hard working mom and your boys seem so sweet! I’d love to help in any way I can!

  4. Susan Corvacchioli Says:

    Janine,

    Your new house looks beautiful!

  5. We are home preschoolers (currently on an unexpected break due to a vacation and then illness. ) I love the freedom that Comes with homeschool! bliss!


Leave a Reply

