A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day! Flower Pens April 12, 2010

Filed under: Calling all bloggers!,Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day — Janine Chance @ 9:26 am

I’m not a super crafty person, however, I am a person of convenience, and I like things to look nice. Oh, okay, and I admit that I enjoy the occasional spontaneous craft from time to time. Anyway, I was at a store, somewhere, can’t remember the details, but what I do remember is asking for a pen to sign my receipt, and the cashier handed me a flower pen. It literally was a silk flower, with the stem and a pen wrapped tightly together with floral tape. Brilliant and super cute all in one! I thought of all the times I am in my kitchen in need of a writing utensil with none to be found. So, I went to Wal-Mart (of course), bought a bunch of my favorite flowers (sunflowers), and a roll of floral tape in the craft department, a bag of coffee beans (whatever was on sale) and went home. Then, I found the flower-pot my daughter made me in Kindergarten that was up in the cabinet needing an occupation, and went around the house scouring for pens. I wrapped a nice bouquet of ‘flower pens’, filled the flower-pot up with coffee beans, and stuck my ‘flowers’ in. Wa-La! Not only do I always have a pen on hand, but the coffee beans smell awesome, I have my favorite flowers in a sentimental flower-pot on my kitchen counter, and my husband always looks so cute whenever he’s writing something on the grocery list! Bonus! They’re cheap to make, super easy to put together, and have a purpose. I doesn’t get any better than that! Wow, looking at my little flower pens below tells me it’s time to get some new flowers and ‘freshen up’ the flower pot!

This post is linked to Made By You Mondays with SkipToMyLou.org

and Works For You Wednesdays at We are THAT Family.com

Click on the links below for more awesome ideas!

 

2 Responses to “Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day! Flower Pens”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Very cute idea! A little bouquet like this would be a fantastic teacher gift, too.

  2. Keri Says:

    Oh, this is just TOOO cute! I love that your hubby writes with them : ) The poor guy is outnumbered, just like me – I can relate! LOL
    Love that you have your domain set up too! I typed in your old address and it linked me right here! Nice work momma.
    Take care!


Leave a Reply

