A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Monkey See, Monkey Sous! April 9, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,Parenting 101,Parenting Pre-teens,Parenting Toddlers — Janine Chance @ 8:32 am

While my two oldest daughters were working with their Dad yesterday afternoon, I recruited my youngest to be my sous chef. I love getting my kids in the kitchen, one-on-one. Love those private lessons!

We made a marinated grilled leg of lamb, homemade mint jelly, roasted rosemary potatoes and sautéed broccoli. Yum! (I’ll post that one next week!)

I know, I know, it sounds like Easter Dinner! Well…it was! We went out-of-town last-minute on Sunday afternoon, so I made my Easter dinner last night!

So, Monkey came to me and asked if she could play the Wii while I made dinner.

(That’s what we call my youngest daughter because she literally climbs the door jambs and plasters her skinny little body to the ceiling. She’s nuts!)

I reminded her she was punished from the Wii…”Oh yeah, I forgot,” she said with a weak smile.

Honestly, I was so sleepy because I hadn’t slept good the night before, and the thought ran through my mind…’Oh, just let her play the Wii…just this once…what’s the big deal?

Then you can get your therapy session (cooking) in alone…with no distractions…nice and quiet…’

I snapped out of the fantasy, brushed the devil off of my left shoulder, smiled at the angel on my right and said,

“Why don’t you come in the kitchen and be my sous chef?”

Disappointed about not getting to play the Wii, but realizing that this option wasn’t so bad, she looked me quizzically and said, “Do I get to chop anything?”

Of course, that’s their favorite part…it makes them feel like real ‘chefs’!

“Absolutely,” I replied.

This was the prep work for chopping the mint. Selecting the best leaves, discarding the yucky ones…

Sorting, measuring, fractions…ahhhh…makes a home-school mama’s day!

Then comes the fun part…chopping!

I have this great little knife my MIL gave to me years ago.

It’s got a handle on it that her little hand fits into perfectly which makes it easy to control and it’s a ‘rocker’ knife. I love it!

Carefully…hand on top, keeping the little fingers from becoming part of the recipe!

You can really see the knife in this pic …if you don’t have one, get one! It’s got a great handle that her little hand fits into perfectly, and it rocks back and forth easily.

Oh yeah! She’s got the hang of it now, baby!

I’m so glad I stuck to my guns and said no to the Wii…for her sake, and mine!

I kept my promise.

My promise to love her enough to follow through and help her make positive decisions.

Giving in is so tempting ! However, it will never serve you or your children well.

The easy, non-confrontational road looks so serene and pretty for the moment, but inevitably ends up either a dead-end, really rocky and you end up blowing out a tire, or sends you both off a cliff.

This alternate route ended up being quite picturesque, very smooth, and we reached our destination without a hitch!

The dinner was yummy, too! Bonus!

 

2 Responses to “Monkey See, Monkey Sous!”

  1. Kelly Says:

    Your dinner sounds delicious. I love that your daughter’s punishment actually turned into a reward (for both of you)!

  2. Tracey Says:

    What a great choice you made! I enjoy getting my girls into the kitchen and cooking with me. I’m looking forward to the summer when we have a bit more time in the evenings to spend working on our supper together.


Leave a Reply

