A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

The Bright Side April 8, 2010

Filed under: Juicy Little Mommy Tidbits,Parenting 101 — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

Sometimes simple, every day life situations can hit you hard in all the wrong places.

Frustrating or annoying moments can just take over and ruin a perfectly good day;

So, I decided to share with you five unfortunate scenarios, along with their bright sides.

(This information is factual…not exactly in this order, or all in the same day, but nonetheless, all true.)

SCENARIO #1

You overslept this morning and you’re late to wherever you were supposed to be. Ugh.

BRIGHT SIDE?

You got more sleep than you thought you would, and will be more rested to handle the fact that you are late.

SCENARIO #2

Your husband was playing ‘washcloth basketball’ and knocked your favorite candle shade off of the table and it broke into a million little pieces. (Did I mention it was my favorite?)

BRIGHT SIDE?

It’s one less thing to dust…or in my case, one less thing to pack!

SCENARIO #3

One of the kids just spilled an entire container of orange juice all over the kitchen floor.

BRIGHT SIDE?

This is your opportunity to clean your floor the way you’ve been wanting to, but haven’t been motivated enough. Hello, motivation!

SCENARIO #4

The meat you put in the fridge to defrost last night was still frozen when you went to cook it, and it ruined your dinner plans.

BRIGHT SIDE?

Pizza with paper plates. Enough said.

SCENARIO #5

Your kids used all of the hot water and now you have to take a cold shower. Yippy Skippy.

BRIGHT SIDE?

This just motivated you to put on your workout clothes, get in your treadmill time, (or other form of torture) and wait for the hot water to regenerate. Burned 243 calories….Bonus!

I hope this helps you to see things differently today. I know I needed to hear it…thanks me!

What are some of your stormy moments turned sunny side up?

This post was linked to The Girl Next Door Grows Up and  “Feel Good Friday” !

 

12 Responses to “The Bright Side”

  1. Tiffanee Says:

    Thanks I really needed that today!! I can so relate. Love the attitude. I will be trying to look at things differently now!! Have a great day!!

  2. Alea Says:

    This is my favorite post of the week! Earlier this week I saw my husbands clothes on the floor and started to go down the “how come a man of his intelligence …path” and then I decided to view it as job securtity for me. 🙂 It is amazing how much a change in perspective can improve your attitude.

  3. Carrie Says:

    Alea pointed me in your direction. I posted on nearly the same thing….just life….today! It’s so comforting to see that you’re NORMAL sometimes!

    Keep on the sunny side…isn’t that how that song goes?!?

  4. Kim Says:

    So, basically all of these things have happened to me in one form or another. I also like to look at being late as protection from God. Obviously, He wanted me out of the normal routine I take for a reason….it’s not for me to know, but to trust and be thankful that He protects me

    • Absolutely! Whenever we are driving somewhere and we left later than we were supposed to, I always thank God for His protection from whatever the devil had in mind!

  5. Keri Says:

    Janine – you are such a ray of sunshine.
    I’m so glad I found you and your adorable blog.

    : ) Keri

    PS – Thanks for picking up my egg error on my muffin recipe! You saved me!!

  6. Laura Says:

    Janine, What a perfect post for Feel Good Friday! Thank you for participating. I couldn’t agree with you more that you can find the bright side to just about everything.

    I have had the spilled juice thing happen to me too!

  7. Great post! Every cloud has a silver lining, right? 🙂

  8. The spilled juice is about the only “opportunity” that causes me to wash the kitchen floor!

  9. purplume Says:

    I love this post. It really brings home the bright side. Thanks,
    from FGF


Leave a Reply

