A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Uncertainty? Yes. Surrender? No way. April 6, 2010

Filed under: Juicy Little Mommy Tidbits,Parenting 101 — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

Hmmm….Things that make you go hmmmmm….Ok, it’s really more like…

Things that make you go AAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!

As I posted last week, we’re moving.  I found a great house that we can move into, but we don’t know for sure yet if it’s a go.  The owner isn’t so sure he wants another renter because of being burned in the past.  Okaaaayyyy….soooo we wait, although we only have 5 weeks to pack.  Yes, you heard me right.  Only 5 weeks to secure a home, pack and move.  No problem.  Yeah, right.

Stressful?  Yes.  All-consuming?  No.

We know that God is in charge.  Does that mean we don’t suffer from worry-itis?  No.  But it does mean that we know who has the ultimate answer, and we know it’s not us.

However, being a human being can so get in the way!  What to do…..well,  in the meantime, I research, pack, and do my thing.  I enjoy my husband’s goofy jokes, love on my kids,  clean my house so we all can relax at night,  blog,  and I do what I can do, without worrying about what I have no control over.  It’s never served me well in the past, so what’s the point?

We all have uncertainty in our lives.  It comes in all shapes and sizes.  We also have a choice to make.  How do we handle it?  Do we freak out and teach our kids that when adversity or uncertainty comes that freaking out is the right protocol?  OR, do we trust that it’s bigger than us, and we can only do what we can do, peacefully and with faith in our arsenal.  They watch our every move, you know!  Trust God, and trust your instincts…He’s the One who gave them to you….never surrender, and again I say BREATHE…(to myself, of course, unless you also are in need of a good deep breath, then go for it)  Let’s show our kids what we’re made of, ladies!

I can’t wait to share the ‘testimony’  of my ‘test’ with you!

Tell me about your test…how did you handle it?

This was part of the 30 minute blog challenge with steadymom.com

 

4 Responses to “Uncertainty? Yes. Surrender? No way.”

  1. Aaaah, what a great reminder. I love your line “we all have uncertainty in our lives” – that is so true. Uncertainty in some form or another never goes away – and it’s MUCh better to wait and see what GOd does than freak out. Thanks!
    (30 minute mom)

  2. Kelly Says:

    Totally need this tattooed on my palm so I can refer to it when the going gets tough (as it all too often does). The kids don’t deserve to see that stress, especially when it always works out in the end.

  3. netc23 Says:

    the other day a friend was telling me how her father was in the hospital and her mother totally shut down, wouldn’t even talk to the doctor. that makes no sense to me. what?! its life, we’ve gotta live it. while my son may sometimes see me cry a few tears during hard times, he’s just (hopefully) seen my plugging along because through it all I still believe, life is beautiful.

  4. Kim Says:

    Great reminders!!! Thanks!


Leave a Reply

