A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Ruby Slippers April 3, 2010

Filed under: Juicy Little Mommy Tidbits,Movin' on up! — Janine Chance @ 6:42 am

Oh, the mere thought of it. ‘Click, click, click’… Can you even imagine being able to lift yourself up on the balls of your feet, click your heels three times, and wa-la?! No, I can’t either, and not for lack of trying. Imagining that beautiful fantasy only leads to the daunting thought that it’ll never happen.

Okay, so the ruby slipper thing is not an option. So, how do we do it all? Accomplish all tasks at hand? I am in the middle of moving, packing, schooling, making phone calls about work, the new house, etc, etc,etc…Needless to say that a ‘ruby slipper day’ would rock. I constantly have to reassure my crazed mind that it’s okay to have the laundry not totally done, and that it’s appropriate to have my hallway lined with boxes, (neatly organized, I must say) and to have bags full of clothing to sell in the yard sale filling my foyer. YIKES.

It would be an OCD nightmare, IF I had OCD…..ahem.

So, the million dollar question is this. How DO I cope until? Until I am in my new house, new location, unpacked, school is over, candles lit, organized with fresh bread baking in the oven and my lovely herb garden growing like crazy?

First, I breathe. (Breathing is good.) Then, I pray. (Praying is good.) I seek God and ask Him what He wants me to do first, because, duh, His plan rocks! I can’t imagine going through all of this without Him.

After breathing, and praying (it’s kind of hard to pray without breathing, so I breathe first), I begin. I make a plan for each day…what I want to get accomplished that day. That’s it. One day at a time. Some days, it’s one minute at a time…and some days, I leave. Not permanently, of course. For an hour…just for a change of scenery and a breath of fresh air. Take the kids to the park, go to the grocery store, you know, a distraction. Then I can come back refreshed, ready to start again. I put on my New Balance ‘ruby slippers’, click my all-terrain rubber heels three times, and dig in.

How do you get motivated?

 

One Response to “Ruby Slippers”

  1. Keri Says:

    Keep up the great work. Sometimes just putting one foot in front of the other is the very best you can do.
    You’re so strong, and thanks for being so honest…I think sometimes mommies just take on so much (or bite off more than we can chew as I like to say). I’m happy to hear you’re finding ways to get through this difficult time. I think praying (and breathing!!) is SO important! I think blogging/writing about it can help you work through things as well. Don’t be afraid to ask for help, or take a time out. Stay strong, and I’ll pray for you too.
    xoxo


Leave a Reply

