A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Family Recipe~Lemon Splash! March 30, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,Home Ec Happenings! — Janine Chance @ 9:44 am

This post is linked to kellythekitchencop.com’s Real Food Wednesday!

This is a recipe that I made up one night with available ingredients and my daughter named it. She said it was like getting a ‘splash’ of lemon in every bite!

It’ s turned into a family favorite, and can definitely be modified!

Lemon Splash

Ingredients:

1 TBSP. extra virgin olive oil

1 TBSP. butter

3 garlic cloves, minced

2 shallots, minced (I used 1/2 of a red onion last night because that’s what I had, and didn’t want to waste it!)

zest and juice of 1 lemon

4 c. chicken broth (one paper container)

1/2 – 3/4 c. white wine

1 pt. heavy cream

1/4 c. fresh grated Parmesan-reggiano cheese (or just parmesan would work)

3 TBSP. minced fresh parsley (I prefer flat Italian flat-leaf parsley, but regular curly parsley will do)

1 lb. pasta (any pasta of your choice will suffice…I use whole grain thin spaghetti…trying to throw in the healthy stuff, too!)

1 1/2 – 2 lb. chicken breast

salt and pepper to taste

steak seasoning (I use Montreal Steak Seasoning by McCormick)

3 TBSP. olive oil

1/4 c. white wine

Boil pasta, adding 4 TBSP. kosher salt to the water, to al dente.

Place chicken in ziploc bag with steak seasoning, olive oil, and white wine. Squish around and let marinate while you prepare the sauce, turning bag every 15 minutes or so.

Start your grill to get ready to make the chicken. (If you don’t grill, you can roast the chicken on 400° for about 10 -12 minutes or until no longer pink in the center.)

In a heavy-bottomed deep skillet on medium heat, melt butter with olive oil. Add garlic and shallot (or onion) and cook until shallot is translucent. Add lemon zest and juice and let reduce about one minute. Add white wine and allow to reduce about 4 – 5 minutes. (This is when I put the chicken on the grill)

Add chicken broth and bring to a simmer. Let reduce about 5 minutes and add cream. (Turn the chicken!)

Keep at a low simmer for about 10 minutes. (At this point, check your chicken and pull it off the grill when it is no longer pink)

Add parsley and let simmer on low, stirring every 5 minutes until chicken and pasta are done.

Once pasta, chicken and sauce are all done, place pasta on plate, slice cooked chicken breast on pasta, and pour sauce over the top. Garnish with additional cheese and parsley (optional).

(Sauce will not be thick. I tried changing it up so that the sauce would stick to the pasta better, and my family didn’t like it as well! Go figure! Oh well! If it ain’t broke…!)

I always like to incorporate some ‘green’, so roasted asparagus goes great with this meal! A little olive oil, salt and fresh ground pepper, roasted at 400°. Perfect side dish every time! Also, serving crusty bread (I usually make garlic bread) is important for mopping up the yummy sauce that is left on your plate. My husband says that it’s necessary so he doesn’t pick up his pasta bowl and drink the sauce! Manners matter! = )

What is a family favorite that you invented in your kitchen? Share your original recipe with us in the comment section below!

 

5 Responses to “Family Recipe~Lemon Splash!”

  1. Grace Morrison Says:

    Mmmmm…. I think I’ll make this, this week! And I LOVE the Pampered Chef tools in the pics! 😉

  2. this looks SOOOO good!! Love the name! 😉

  3. Keri Says:

    Janine! Your recipes are always amazing!! I’m off work for 5 days over Easter, I can’t wait to come back and try some of your suggestions. Yummmmmm!
    It’s too bad you didn’t live closer; I’d invite myself over for dinner! LOL

  4. This sounds so good! I love learning new ways to enjoy chicken!

  5. […] served these on thin buns with grilled onions, my Asian slaw, seasoned fries, and roasted asparagus…  […]


Leave a Reply

