A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day! March 16, 2010

Filed under: Laughing out Loud,Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

Tired of being interrupted, or your kids (particularly your first-born) trying to finish your sentences? Sick of your ‘private’ phone conversations constantly being interrupted by an uninvited third party? It is definitely a pet peeve of mine… Here’s the solution:

It doesn’t matter what color, or whether it’s plastic or glass…whatever will hold those glorious coins that symbolize the power of patience. (I know you see pennies in there, but it’s only because I also use it as my spare change drop site.)

When ANYONE in my house (including children, family, or very close friends) interrupts a conversation, 50 cents goes in the jar. We went out and rented a movie the first week the interruption jar was in business! It really works! Admittedly, I’ve had to contribute to the jar a few times, myself. Oh well, no one’s perfect!

 

5 Responses to “Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day!”

  1. Kelly Says:

    I’m going to try this! One question, though – where do your kids get their money? Mine would have to borrow money from me!

    • When they do ‘over the top’ chores..such as cleaning out the car, (vacuuming it out), stuff like that. We discuss a price before-hand… Doing the car is usually about 5 bucks. That’s too funny…My middle daughter had to borrow 50 cents from me once. I kept an IOU note by the jar. When she got money, she paid up…plus interest! = )

  2. Betsy Petty Says:

    I’m lost!! Doesn’t that encourage the interruptions? The more $$ there’s in the jar the more money you have to spend??

    • No, the money was used to rent ME a movie! Not them! But seriously, it’s more of a reminder than a punishment. It’s not their fault I have a bunch of crazy, out-going girls! LOL! It also designates their money to a cause they didn’t have any say in, so it’s punishment enough. It’s a light-hearted way of making my point without breaking their spirit. Am I making any sense?


Leave a Reply

