A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Sooooo big! March 15, 2010


“Sooooo big!” I remember saying that to my girls when they were old enough to hold out their chubby little arms with toothless grins from ear to ear with absolute sheer delight. I also remember saying things like, “What a big girl you are!” when they would clean up a toy all by themselves, or use a spoon instead of their fingers while eating Cheerios in strawberry yogurt for breakfast. *Sigh…*

Kaitlyn working on her song...

Now I look at our oldest, Kaitlyn, who has just written her first song on the guitar and is going to Detroit, Michigan in August with her youth group for a drama competition. Uh, yeah I’m going with her!!! (That was for those of you saying…’Is she nuts? Sending her 12-year-old off on a plane to Michigan with her youth group?’)

I watch her with her friends and think to myself, how did she get so big, so fast? She is so beautiful, talented and a genuinely nice person. I am proud of her choice of friends, excited about the path in life she is choosing, and I love the relationship that she and I have.

Madelyn, our middle daughter is 10, and is probably the most compassionate person I have ever met…. almost to a fault.

Madelyn, my 'blogtographer'...she took this pic of herself.

She is always saying that when she is a mom someday, she is going to have to live next to me or her older sister because she doesn’t think she’ll be able to discipline her children…she says we’ll have to do it for her. I told her she’d get over that one. She is definitely my most dramatic, but has gotten to a beautiful place of balance with it. She is sweet, but has a crazy good sense of humor. Definitely makes for some interesting family dinners. She plays the drums, and preached her first sermon to the children’s church last week. I was so proud, especially when she asked me to ‘smell’ her sermon notes. I thought she was going nuts until I actually indulged her. She sprayed it with coconut lime body spray. (I told you she had gotten to a beautiful place of balance with her dramatic side!) Too funny.

Then there is McKenna. The Energizer Bunny of the family. We all use the treadmill so we can exercise and improve our health, while she uses it to exhaust all of her extra energy. She doesn’t stop moving, or talking, and since she lost her front tooth, it is quite entertaining. She is funny, always happy, and is always looking out for the other guy. We call her the family cheerleader. Constantly rooting for everyone. When she picks out her outfit for the day, being able to do a cart-wheel in it is definitely a prerequisite. She is also a peacemaker and we all absolutely love and enjoy who she is. She was my ‘surprise pregnancy’… I’m so glad God knew better!

McKenna, showing off her crazy muscles (and Tinkerbell tattoo!) during a gymnastics lesson at home.

So, yes, all of those times we look at our infants, or our toddlers and say “Soooo big!” We really do mean it. They are so big to us at that time. It’s exciting to watch them grow. Whether it’s seeing them roll over for the first time, take their first steps, or write their first song. It’s really important as moms that we have as few regrets as possible.

I guess that’s why I wanted to honor my kids today in this post. They are not perfect people, for sure. I could also sit here and go on about the things that bug me, but not today.

Today, I want to look at them and say, “Sooooo big!” and see their now long, slender arms stretched out wide, with big, beautiful, full smiles on their faces…because I still have some “soooo big” time left with them, and I am so thankful for that.

 

6 Responses to “Sooooo big!”

  1. Gwen Hendry Says:

    Janine, what beautiful words! How awesome to read how proud you are of your daughters! They are, indeed, such special girls, and are fortunate to have such a wonderful Mom! I enjoyed every word of this…thanks for sharing and for being an inspiration to me!

  2. Keri Says:

    Thanks for sharing that! Your daughters are obviously beautiful, inside and out. You must be one proud mommy & I agree with the previous comment – you’re an inspiration!

    • Thanks so much! They are great…even with their flaws! I am proud. Even though I know I’ve given them plenty to talk about with their therapists someday! lol….= )

  3. Aunt Kick Says:

    It’s one thing to read something someone writes “glowingly” about their kids when you don’t know the person. The thought always comes, “Is she for real? Or is this an act to make us feel good about them?” But when you know the writer, when you’ve seen them in action with their kids and you are honored to be close enough to see the tiny imperfections that everyone has…well then when you read an article like this you can celebrate that this writer sees her children as they are and celebrates all the great things about them. It is inspirational to hear, see, and share. God bless you all. I love you

    • Thanks so much, my sister, and my friend. I am so glad to know that something I am doing is inspiring. That means so much! So glad you’re enjoying reading my blog!


Leave a Reply

