A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Memory Makers… March 8, 2010


Me and my girls in N.C.

I am so thankful to God, and my husband that they have allowed and afforded me to be a stay-at-home home-school mom for the past 12 years. We’ve sacrificed, yes, done without extravagant vacations, yes, but without an ounce of regret.

McKenna's 'Cloudy With a Chance of Meatballs' Cake!

God has always provided, and my children want for nothing. It’s amazing to me how we’ve lived on one salary for so long, and we have no debt. Awesome. I guess that is one of the many reasons I take my job so seriously. When people ask me if I work, my response is, “Not outside the home,” because I certainly work my tuchus off inside the home! Can I get an ‘amen’?

One of the things that I have always tried to do as a mom is to be a memory maker. You know, do special little things that my kids will remember forever. Unfortunately, they will have some not so fond memories, so I try to outweigh them with good ones. I asked my girls to tell me some of the things that I do for them that means the most to them.

These are some of the responses I got:

“I used to love it when you put our baby blankies in the dryer so they could be warm for bedtime, and you put towels in the dryer for after our bath when were so cold.”

“I love that you make special cakes for my birthday.”

“You make heart-shaped muffins for breakfast.”

“You take us on trips as a surprise to go see snow!”

Awesome times with life-long friends!

“Letting us have friends sleep over and making chocolate chip pancakes with whipped cream.”

“Taking us on surprise field trips for school!”

“Letting us have ‘Fun-Genda’ Night!”

Fun-Genda Night!

I’m certainly not writing this post to give myself heirs, or to boast…that is not my intention for sure. I am far from a perfect mom. I mess up quite often. That’s when I chalk it up and say, ‘oh well, they’ll need something to tell their therapist someday!’

So, I just love that these little things made positive memories for my girls. When they are mommies someday, doing laundry, and pull a warm towel out of the dryer, I hope they remember the warm towel that wrapped up their tiny little bodies after a bath, and when they take their kids sledding, they will remember the spontaneous trip we took so they could see snow for the first time.

My sweet, crazy girls!

I have memories of my mom letting me put make-up on her, and putting a gazillion bows in her hair. These are the memories that keep us going. I am so thankful to God that I have the world’s best husband, and he makes it possible for me to give these experiences to them.

Trying to be a consistent mom can make you feel like all you ever do is correct, discipline, and give instruction. Memory makers lighten the load and leave a lasting impression. What are some memory making moments you’ve had with your kids?

 

6 Responses to “Memory Makers…”

  1. Grace Morrison Says:

    You know, I’m gonna do the towel thing for both my guys today… Done it before, but always nice to find things to love your loves more and fend off complacency! Good reminder – Thanks!

  2. Laura Says:

    Not to toot your horn but you are one awesome woman!! I am learning so much from you! Thank you for your wisdom.

  3. Kelly Says:

    I sit with each kid at the end of the night and talk them about their days. I put little love notes in my son’s lunch and homework folder so he knows I miss him when he’s not home. I plant flowers with the kids every spring and do holiday crafts with them throughout the year. These are the memories I’m trying to make with them.

    You’ve inspired me to ask them which memories *they* think of. I’m sure our lists won’t match completely.

  4. Keri Says:

    I love this post, I don’t think you’re tooting your own horn at all (but maybe you should!)
    I love the idea of making memories without having a spend a whole lotta cash…sometimes a night making cookies and doing puzzles is the best kind of quality time possible! : )


Leave a Reply

