A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day! March 3, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day — Janine Chance @ 10:00 am

Yesterday I posted my ‘Medicine Soup’ recipe. I had made it a couple of weeks ago and froze half of it, so last night I made an amazing soup using the Medicine Soup as my broth base.

This is my culinary story.

I went to the grocery store earlier in the week and looked in the produce department for an ingredient that I don’t normally use just for fun and experimentation and came home with three beautiful big leeks. Soooooo….last night was going to be tilapia with wild rice and veggies, but when it got so cold and rainy that I had to start a fire, the menu quickly morphed into Potato Leek Soup with Ham and crusty bread on the side. I went online and looked for a recipe, but wasn’t sold on any of them, so I decided to try my hand at my own version and this is what I came up with:

My Potato Leek Soup with Ham

3 TBSP. butter

3 leeks, sliced thin

1 large onion, diced

2 – 3 garlic cloves chopped fine

8 red potatoes, sliced thin with skin on

3 – 4 c. ‘Medicine Soup’, or broth of choice (you can use vegetable broth, omit the ham, and have a vegetarian meal also!)

1 c. heavy cream (don’t freak, health nuts, it only amounts to a few TBSP. per serving!)

1/2 lb. deli ham of choice, diced

salt and freshly ground pepper to taste

On medium heat, melt the butter in a Dutch oven, or heavy bottomed pot and add leeks, onion, and garlic. Saute, stirring until onions are sweated out and starting to brown. Add sliced potatoes and almost completely cover with chicken broth. Cook until potatoes are tender. Using a potato masher or an immersion blender, mash the potatoes until you reach the consistency you want. The soup will thicken as you mash the potatoes, so turn the heat down as to not scorch the soup. Add the heavy cream, salt and pepper to taste, stir, and cook about 10 – 12 minutes more, stirring often. Add ham and cook another 5 minutes or until ham is heated through. Serve with a side of crusty bread.

By using the ‘Medicine Soup’, I am serving up some serious all natural goodness. By adding potatoes and leeks, plus more garlic, onions, etc… you’ll be running a marathon in no time! (Disclaimer: This is not a guarantee. Eating this soup will not ensure marathon greatness.) Below are some links you can follow to learn more about the properties of these ingredients. I posted links about garlic, onions, carrots, ginger root, and celery in yesterday’s post, so here are links for leeks and potatoes, if you’re wanting more of an education on what you’re serving up!

http://www.theworldwidegourmet.com/products/articles/leek-medicinal-properties/

http://www.botanical-online.com/patatasangles.htm

Enjoy, friends, enjoy!

 

3 Responses to “Scooby Snack~Tip of the Day!”

  1. Grace Morrison Says:

    Beautiful, Janine!
    If I lived close to you, we’d so be cooking together on the regular – I am sure of it… We are two peas in a pod when it comes to the kitchen… or so it appears! πŸ™‚ YUMMO!!! And since I have all of these ingredients, and it’s cold and wet, I think I may be whipping up some soup here in the not too distant future! πŸ™‚

  2. Thanks! I completely agree with you!!!!! I really enjoy it…total therapy session. Making a spinach lasagna today with whole wheat lasagna noodles…I’ll let you know how it comes out!

  3. pastorkay Says:

    Sounds wonderful and healthy. Love the picture of it, makes me want to try it. You encourage me to want to cook again!


Leave a Reply

