A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Fertile Soil February 20, 2010

Filed under: Crazy Good Food,Home Ec Happenings!,Teenagers! — Janine Chance @ 1:00 pm

If you haven’t noticed already, I love to cook.  Sadly, I think cooking is a lost art in today’s society.  I have had my girls in the kitchen with me since they were old enough to stand on a step ladder.  They love preparing meals, and just being a part of it.  My 12 year old didn’t always love it, but being able to make her favorite foods, and the fact that she has a heart to serve kind of sucked her in.  My 10 year old, however, wants to be a pastry chef.  She’s always designing cakes, and loves to be in the kitchen making anything.  As you can see from my Scooby Snack today, the 7yr. old is following suit!

Another part of my heart is dedicated to teenagers.  My husband and I were youth pastors for about 10 years, and I absolutely love that age.  Our shoe baskets stay pretty well stocked with Converse high-tops due to our frequent high school aged visitors!

So, I decided to take these two passions and condense them.  I’m all about multi-tasking!  I decided to start a High School Cooking Class.  I teach it every Tuesday at my humble little abode.  The student s and I meet every week at the local grocery store to shop for the ingredients needed in that week’s recipes.  They are learning how to shop smart, how to make substitutions, how to choose the best produce, etc…I absolutely love this part of the class.  It’s so important, and it’s a step in the process that traditional Home Economics classes don’t teach.

We then go back to my house and break up into smaller groups and start cooking!  Of course the first few weeks of class consist of kitchen safety, food safety, keeping your workspace clean, you know, the boring, but necessary stuff!

At the end of the semester, the kids are required to put on a banquet as a part of their final grade.  Last year, our theme was “International Cooking”.  We had Italy, Japan, and Mexico represented.  The students cooked, and served 75 adults, including 4 guest judges.  It was awesome!  I was so proud of them!  I only had one student graduate out of my class. This year I have about 15 students and I love each and every one of them.

Why am I sharing all of this?  Is it because I think I am just so great and wonderful?  Uh, No.  Not even close.  It’s because I believe in paying it forward.  I believe that if we have something to give, give it up.  Investing in other lives is a sure thing.  The fringe benefits are of the most rewarding kind.  I encourage you to find what part of you that you want to share…don’t be stingy!

Remember?  ‘It’s not about us”?

We all have gifts, and aren’t gifts supposed to be given away?  Even you non-re-gifters out there must agree!   It’s so worth it!  Every talent, every gift you posess is a seed.

There is so much ‘fertile soil’ out there just waiting to yield a harvest.   Let’s plant those seeds, and hopefully we will be fortunate enough to see them break through the ground.

 

One Response to “Fertile Soil”

  1. […] teach a home-economics class on Tuesdays in my home for 9th-12th grade kids, and allow my girls to help and be a part of […]


Leave a Reply

