A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Pretty Pearls and Shiny Silver… February 11, 2010

Filed under: Juicy Little Mommy Tidbits,Parenting 101 — Janine Chance @ 7:46 am

Yesterday afternoon, I took my 10 yr. old daughter Madelyn to get a haircut, and my youngest tagged along.  We had to drive about 45 minutes to get to the salon, so while we were in town, I decided to get some shopping done. Madelyn had a little bit of her Christmas money left and she asked me if she could spend it if she found something she wanted.

“We’ll see…” I said…boy if I had a nickel for every time I said that one.  Anyway, she was looking at the jewelry case, and found a beautiful bracelet that she wanted to wear for Valentine’s Day.  It had petite little  strings of delicate white pearls that were interrupted by shiny silver buttons that said ‘Peace’, ‘Hope’, and ‘Love’.  It was so cute!  “I want this one!” said Madelyn.  “Definitely this one!”

“Okay,” I said, kind of surprised.  Usually Madelyn picks out things to buy and ultimately puts them back…she does not like to spend her money that quickly, and this bracelet pretty much wiped out all she had left.

She couldn’t wait to get home to take the tag off so she could wear it to church.  “This is my favorite bracelet, ever!” she said, with a huge smile on her face.

On the way to church, we picked up a sweet woman who lives in our neighborhood. She is going through a bit of a hard time.  She’s suffered some hardship in the last six months, both financial and emotional, even some physical.  The girls and I have spent a little time with her, just trying to help in any way we can,   even if it’s just giving her something to giggle about.  You know, ‘Laughter is like a medicine’!

As I was driving, I heard a little voice from the back seat.  “Here Ms. Wanda, Happy Valentine’s Day.”

I looked over to see Madelyn’s little hand reach between the front seats of the car and hand Wanda the bracelet she just bought for herself. The one with the pretty little pearls, and the shiny silver buttons.  The one she couldn’t wait to put on for church that night.  Her favorite bracelet ever.

I have had some proud mom moments, but this one is at the top of my list, for sure. To see a completely selfless act of kindness from my kids makes all of the frustrating moments as a mom worth every wrinkle.

Wanda thanked Madelyn, and the moment quickly faded.

When we got home, I took Madelyn aside and told her how proud I was of her for being so selfless.  I told her I was proud of her for hearing the voice of God speak to her, and obeying.  That’s the hardest part.  Hearing is one thing, doing is another.

“I just knew she probably didn’t have anything for Valentine’s Day, and that just wouldn’t be right.” she said.

“Well, Madelyn, I know it will look beautiful on her!  You’re a sweet girl, and I’m so proud of you.”

I’m proud of the fact that she gave her beautiful bracelet to Wanda, but even more proud because she didn’t talk about it afterward…not to anyone.  There were no pats on the back, no ‘look what I did’…just a selfless act of love coming from a pure heart.  That made her look more beautiful than any bracelet ever could.

That’s my mommy story of the day.  Don’t underestimate the power of teaching your kids how to serve and bless others.  It will certainly come back to you 100 fold.

What is your proud mommy story?

 

2 Responses to “Pretty Pearls and Shiny Silver…”

  1. Jen Says:

    I can so totally see madelyn doing that…tear in the eye 😉 Sniff, sniff…
    Well this story does not compare, but only a mommy will know the feeling… (*I think I called you after it happened)
    I had been potty training my daughter since she could walk, and although she was trained 2 months before her 2nd birthday, i still had to help her, you know the whole routine, pull down the pants, get the step stool, “Don’t forget to Pat-pat” flush, pants on, “Wash your hands” Dry….You know what I’m talkin about! It gets kinda tiring! So after all the while I’m thinking when is she gonna do all this by herself?!
    I felt she never would…

    Then one day, when she was about 2 & a 1/2, she was very quiet, I crept back the hallway expecting to catch her up to something, and there she was in the bathroom… POTTYING ALL BY HERSELF!! The door was half open so I snuck behind it and watched through he crack..With tears in my eyes and a lump in my throat, she did it all!! She even washed her hands!!

    That was one of my best mommy moments! So those of you training, hang in there! It will be over before you know it. Now I’m training my son, he’ll be 2 in a few weeks, any suggestions?!!!! He just doesn’t care!

  2. Aunt Kick Says:

    The bracelet story is one of the best. And how great that it is true. What a wonderful blessing for Ms. Wanda and you.

    With regards to the 2 year old who doesn’t care…. like you said, hang in there. As a pediatrician once told me… “he won’t go to high school in a diaper.” 😉 Boys take longer than girls but they do come around.


Leave a Reply

