A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Breathe, Mom, Breathe! January 28, 2010

Filed under: Parenting 101,Parenting Pre-teens,Parenting Toddlers — Janine Chance @ 4:00 am

No, I’m not referring to child birth. I’m referring to those moments when you son or daughter has whined for the 60th time this morning, or complained about their breakfast. I’m referring to those little things that your kids do every day that make you want to jump out the window and run, long, hard, and for as long as your legs will take you.

You know what I’m talking about. We all experience it. Some cases are worse than others, yes, but if you have kids, you catch my drift.

What to do first? BREATHE……Yelling the same thing over and over doesn’t work. Trust me, I’ve tried. Been there, done that, and it really doesn’t make a difference. If you can’t breathe because you can still hear it and it’s driving you up a wall, put your fingers in your ears and say it with me…”la la la la la…” You get the point.

Whining gets you absolutely nothing in my house. I look at my kids and say 6 very powerful words…

“How’s that workin’ for ya’?”

They have no choice but to say no. (If they say yes, discipline them for being a Mr. or Mrs. Smarty Pants.) It’s a way to get them to realize that particular behavior will get them nowhere. If you have toddlers, the famous “use your words” thing is good, but when your kids are past that point and they should know better….”how’s that workin’ for ya’” works wonders. They realize that in order to get what they want, they have to go about it in a completely different way.

It also is giving you an option other than yelling and getting angry…much better on your blood pressure! You can say it, walk away, and wait for a different behavior. If the behavior doesn’t change, hand out your discipline of choice. It’s really that simple.

I’m not saying it’s not frustrating, or that I haven’t had my Calgon-take-me-away days, but when I apply myself as a mom in this way, it works. Convince yourself that no fit, no amount of screaming, no matter how many tears have been shed…you will not be moved. (I’m talking about their fits, screaming and tears, by the way, not yours.)

So, mom, pick your head up, smile, get your”how’s that workin for ya’” face on, and BREATHE!

What are some of your famous ‘Mommy Mottos”?  Leave it in the comment section below!

 

2 Responses to “Breathe, Mom, Breathe!”

  1. Rev. Kay Says:

    Breathe is powerful for us adults also…who deal with many other people who look like adults but still act like children. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

