A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Mommy Magic January 23, 2010

Filed under: Parenting 101 — Janine Chance @ 8:31 am

“Mom! Have you seen my other flip flop?” “Hey, Mom! I can’t find my jeans!” “Where’s the peanut butter? It’s not in there!” “Mommy, where’s my blankie?”…..If these questions seem familiar to you, and you can inevitably locate the items in question, then you have it. Yes, IT.

Mommy Magic.

My girls seem amazed when I can walk past them, go directly to the pantry, and find the item they have searched high and low for, in a matter of seconds. They say, “Wow! How do you do it!?” It even amazes me at times. I tell my girls that it’s a God thing. God gives all mommies Mommy Magic the moment our children are born.

The magic is even extended for spouses ‘ lost items, because let’s face it ladies, our husbands, as great as they are, are not very good at finding things. That internal, instinctive guide which enables us to find those missing items, and allows us the right to say ‘I said so, that’s why’…because we can’t always explain why or how, we just KNOW.

So, moms, stick to your guns. Don’t give in. That gnawing in your belly when your kids ask you to spend the night somewhere and you’re just not diggin’ it…stand firm…that same Mommy Magic that found their special blanket tucked under the couch cushion is the one that is telling you not to let them go. Trust your instincts. God in you is the best decision maker there is. Don’t feel guilty. There is no one else in this world that is going to have their best interest in mind more than you. It’s okay to say ‘no’ with a smile and really be okay with it because you are confident in your decision.

So, get your magic on, moms….it’s time to find those teddy bears, those pacifiers, those MP3 players….and say no even when it’s hard and we want to please our kids. Someday, they will call you a hero because of it.

 

17 Responses to “Mommy Magic”

  1. Kay Says:

    Somewhere in the Bible there must be a Scripture about this GIFT FROM GOD..Mommy Magic. Great article!

  2. 3girlmomblog Says:

    wow mommy magic that is so cool your kids must love you

  3. 3girlmomblog Says:

    from madelyn wow mommy magic that is so cool your kids must love you

  4. alice macdougall Says:

    The first time I saw you with your middle child I knew you
    were a great mom. Even thought I am not longer raising kids
    I look forward to your blog

  5. Jacqui Says:

    VERY cute! You gave me a chuckle as well as encouragement today! Thanks!! XO

  6. holly Says:

    Awesome! I was just having an internal battle over my daughter’s “But why can’t I spend the night?”. Perfect God timing to get confirmation from your blog! Thanks!

  7. Julie Says:

    These are all great Janine!! You are such a great mom, and such an inspiration to others!

  8. Kim Says:

    Even though my daughter is 18 and my son is 16 there are plenty of times I just ain’t “diggin” what they wanna do….and still say no. Luckily, my kids respect my decision (not that they don’t complain sometimes) and go with the flow. You’re right….we just know. Period.
    Great article! 🙂

  9. Heather Says:

    Mommy Magic . . . that is so true, mommy’s can ALWAYS find what’s missing! I enjoyed reading this! It reminded me that I’m not alone in this ‘mommy thing’. I will remember it the next time I start to get frustrated when my kids (or husband) asks me to help them find something … that’s usually right in front of them ; )

    • 3girlmomblog Says:

      Hi Heather! I’m so glad this gave you a positive way to look at it! If you haven’t subscribed yet, just put your email address in under my pics on the site, and click submit! Enjoy!

  10. […] be on a need-to-know-basis, and it’s really for their own benefit. We as parents are given that “mommy magic” which gives us the ability to discern for our kids better than anyone about what they are ready to […]

  11. Love it, I just wish though that the mommy magic extended itself to my own stuff and not just my kids and my hubbys stuff. Now where did I put my cellphone last night… 😉


Leave a Reply

