A Spoonful of Sugar

Making every day life as a mom just a little bit sweeter.

Let’s get started making life just a little bit sweeter. January 21, 2010

Filed under: Parenting 101 — Janine Chance @ 3:59 pm
Tags:

Before I could start this post, I had to move the coffee cup, water-glass, a third grade Language Arts teacher’s manual, my cell phone, house phone and day planner just to get to my keyboard. My three girls are with my husband, so the house is uncannily quiet. The cats and turtles must be sleeping. I had the nerve to actually think about my life this morning and what I want to be when I grow up. Well, I already love my job, so why would I even want to do anything else? And then it hit me..AHA! I want to help other moms love their job, too! Ding, ding, ding!!! Good answer! Pick me! Pick me! If one more person tells me to write a book on parenting I’m going to scream, so I am starting this blog to bring inspiration and hope to all of us who have met that kid in the toy aisle of Wal-Mart that you wished was in your cart instead of his mother’s. If only. *Sigh* Anyway, back to reality… So, moms of the world, here are my first words of encouragement to you. If your kids like you at the end of the day, it’s a bonus. It’s not your job to be liked; it’s your job to make sure other people like them. Pick your battles, and don’t let them pick their nose. Like my mom told me when my oldest daughter was born, your job as a mom is to win. Always win. I hope you are a winner today.

 

8 Responses to “Let’s get started making life just a little bit sweeter.”

  1. Grace Morrison Says:

    Nice Janine! One question: What does winning look like when you are 4 days deep into a nasty cold with your 5 month old baby and it’s all you can do not to throw yourself off the balcony if you hear one more “Wah???” I am so in love with my son, but I have never had my wits tested to such an intense level as I have reaching this stage of utter exhaustion and feeling entirely helpless to “fix” the problem aside from just crying, nursing, rocking, praying and crying all while pleading for some serious restorative sleep! Holy Moly!!! And Chris helps but he is beyond exhaustion too… Is there a miracle fast cure for baby colds??? Ah, I suppose it’s just one of those rights of passage as a parent…

    • 3girlmomblog Says:

      McKenna, my youngest started an ear infection at 3 wks. of age and it didn’t go away until she had tubes put in at 3 months. I took her to the doctor in between those times, and the doctor informed me that you can, in fact, give babies Benedryl..helps them breathe, and sleep. Check with your doctor first, of course. I’m just telling you what we were told. I told the doc that I’d never heard of giving a 2 month old Benedryl, and she responded by saying…’Well..she needs to breathe, doesn’t she?’ Call your doctor tomorrow and see what he/she says. It may be the best call you’ve ever made!

  2. Kay Says:

    Janine,
    Finally…the long awaited beginning…wonderful, tasty, usable, made me laugh and left me wanting more.

  3. What a great blog – about time! I know that your spoonfuls of sugar have been an inspiration to many of my days and I am so excited to see you putting them out there for all moms!

  4. Damian Martinez Says:

    Oh yeah baby, here goes the new blog of the year that will win Grammys and all! I’m glad you started this, it’s going to help a lot of people especially with my 2 year old son (oh wait just dreaming lol)! Love you and PJ and I’m excited to see what else will come!

  5. Grace Morrison Says:

    Should have read this several days ago… Thank heavens he is doing SO MUCH better now!!! Thank you. 🙂

  6. […] I came home, signed onto WordPress.com, and wrote my very first post on January 21, 2010. It was short but sweet, and honestly I thought it would be my last. I had […]


Leave a Reply

